Reviews

Our Guests Say it Best

Proud to Announce

St. George’s Caye Resort has received the highest honor and is now featured as a 2018 TripAdvisor Hall of Fame award winner!

Want to be whisked away to clear waters, unparalleled relaxation and soft sea breezes? When looking to reserve your next destination vacation, our loyal guests describe our “rustic elegance” perfectly. Scroll for some of our rave reviews. Find more at our Trip Advisor site.

Private Island Experience

Sam B wrote a review on Feb 10, 2021

This is exactly the type of resort we needed for a relaxing few days at the end of our tour around Belize.

A place to disconnect and relax while having some amazing adventures. We got connected with Tim and Andrea before our stay and even before our trip started we had a really great impression on how it would go.

We were picked up in Belize City by Wilbur by boat and delivered out to this private island to be excited by our overwater cabanas that were the first things we saw. Wilbur then took our bags directly to our room for us without a thought. Later in the trip, he took us back and forth to Belize City again and his service was always on point.

Jahnene the manager greeted us at the island and gave us the tour around. We loved this property how it spanned from one ocean side of the island to the other. You could always find a perfect spot no matter the wind direction. We later found out that Jahnene was actually perfect at her job. She spent hours on the phone for us with different clinics organizing our Covid tests for our return to Canada. We are so grateful to have her there to relieve that stress for us. That aside, Jahnene came up to chat with us at every meal just to find out how she could make our stay better. She made it her mission to understand exactly what we needed to have the best time ever here. Thank you Jahnene!

Adventure was the name of the game here and to name a few, we did three dives here and saw an abundance of healthy corals and creatures. Jose helped my girlfriend finish her open-water certification course, which she was actually very nervous about, but Jose was extremely patient and made her feel super relaxed about the whole process. Freddy was the same and always made sure he kept an eye on her. That was really all she needed to feel secure. It helped that we saw a beautiful turtle and a little nurse shark as they were super peaceful.

Kayaks and paddleboards are free to use anytime and we took advantage of that as the back bay was so calm and beautiful. We say eagle rays and stingrays swimming under us and on our last day, I even got to kayak with dolphins. Apparently, this is a common thing, but a first for me. Three dolphins swam around me for over an hour very curious of what I was up to. All of this happened while enjoying an incredible sunset.

Andy helped teach us how to use the Hobie Cat, which is a mini sailboat fit for 3 or 4 people, also free to use any time and once you get a quick lesson from Andy, you are good to journey around on your own if you want. He's a great teacher!

Edison and Alex run the bar and deliver amazing plentiful amounts of food. We were well taken care of and they also played lots of games with us and built us an awesome bonfire twice for us and the other guests. One of the things we liked most about this place, was that the staff really created a communal feeling which made it easy to get to know other guests through fun activities. Nobody was left out unless they wanted to be which really added to our experience there. Hermit Crab races were especially a great idea haha.

Thank you everyone and to the other awesome guests for making our stay amazing! Thank you to Cornell for driving us around in the city to get everything we needed as well.

 


Excellent time! Very serene and romantic!

Kwright521 wrote a review on Jan 25, 2021

We stayed at St. Georges Caye just this last week and it was absolutely amazing! We stayed in the overwater cabanas and were woken up every morning to the bright, beautiful skies (We even saw a pair of Dolphins!). The staff was amazing, the amenities were great and the views of the island were so scenic. I loved every minute of it and was so disappointed to leave. Would HIGHLY recommend for couples/Romantic getaways, but would likely be ok for small families or a small group of friends who were looking to have a quiet, relaxing time away from it all


Best 40th birthday EVER!

Imani C wrote a review on Jan 23, 2021

Worked for over a year to plan my 40th birthday celebration. Service was incredible, they addressed all my requests and myself and guests were overjoyed. The food and drinks were outstanding. Rooms were cozy and clean. We will be back!


Pure Paradise

heathertH6573MZ wrote a review on Jan 11, 2021

 All I can say is wow.

My husband and I, after multiple attempts (due to COVID-19), were finally able to take our honeymoon to this beautiful island and we were in constant awe the whole time. We are normally busy bodies but when we arrived on the island all we wanted to do was relax and do things at our own leisure which is exactly what this resort offered.

We can't say enough about the staff. We heard a saying while there "here in Belize you don't make friends, you make family". This was so fitting because whenever we interacted with the staff it felt like family. Here are a few that stood out to us.

Alex: he was simply amazing and did anything/everything he could to make sure we were taken care of. My husband found a conch shell and Alex took it and cleaned it for us so we could take it home - above and beyond service.

Edison: Amazing bartender, my husband and I thoroughly enjoyed getting to know him. I know my husband really loved getting to fish for Tarpon with him after dinner as well. Outstanding service.

Misael: Excellent cook and even better person. He helped my husband, on multiple occasions and after a long day of work, try to land a Tarpon on the front dock. My husband was thrilled to have a fishing buddy and Misael was awesome.

The food and drinks were amazing, you will not leave the resort hungry. They are always making sure you are fed. If you go on an excursion (like fishing) and will miss a meal, they will pack it for you so you don't go hungry. Also I cannot forget the fresh coffee and orange juice that got delivered to our room everyday. I looked forward to this every morning and is something I miss - being able to sip on your coffee and watch the sunrise, absolute bliss.

I would highly recommend the water cabanas. It did get buggy at night since there is little to no wind, but getting to see all of the wildlife was amazing.

The resort was cleaned and freshly groomed everyday, you can tell that they take pride in what they are doing at St. Georges. After breakfast we always came back to a clean room, it was great. Also, the resort took great precautions against COVID-19 making sure everything was sanitized, people were wearing masks, and taking our temperatures daily. My husband and I felt more than safe during our stay.

Overall we loved the atmosphere and being able to meet some amazing new people. We will absolutely be back and look forward to booking our next vacation there.


Belizean Paradise

Thank you to everyone! See you again, soon! Chris and Jaimee
We arrived into Belize on Oct. 25, 2020. Our airport transfer driver, Cornell, was super friendly, and showed us the interesting sights on the way to the dock. It was really neat to hear about the history of Belize, the Belizean culture, and historical sights. Once we arrived at the dock, our bags were loaded onto the water taxi and we were on our way to the island. The boat operator was very kind and helpful. Once we arrived at the dock of St, Georges Caye, we were greeted and our bags were taken to our cabana. We went to the office to check in and get our keys. Jeanine (spelling incorrect) was so kind and helpful. She went over our activities that we reserved with us and guided us back to our cabana. We arrived a bit late for lunch, but they did have plates made for us and they were promptly delivered to our room. Delicious! The cabana was beautiful. We had one of the over the water cabanas. Perfect for viewing the amazing Belizean sunsets. I can't say enough about the staff that worked during our visit. Edison was so kind and fun to be around. Oliver, was helpful, funny and also very kind and fun to hang around a chat with. The Scuba guides, Freddie and Jose were amazing. Very vigilant on keeping an eye on a first time diver. The fishing guide, Bones, was very good at knowing the exact place to go catch the best fish. What an amazing haul of fish they caught, If you plan to go fishing, please ask for Bones. He will not disappoint you. The chef cooked impeccable meals. I had things I had never tasted before. Everything was delicious. Alex was a wonderful server and attended to every request. The massage therapist is amazing and you will be so relaxed when you are done, the stress just melts away, Everyone that worked during out stay, Oct 25-30, 2020, was amazing! I will definitely be back. I feel like I made friends with the staff and look forward to seeing them again. Would love to meet Tim the owner. He went above and beyond to help make our dream vacation a reality. Thank you to everyone that helped make our stay unforgettable! Y'all are amazing! I can't wait to see you again! If you are considering a vacation, please check out St. George's Caye Resort. It will not disappoint you! I felt very pampered and well taken care of.

Guests love St. George’s Caye Resort! From authentic and freshly prepared meals to cocktails with hand squeezed island juices, guests are in awe with our connection to providing locally sourced ingredients. Some highlight experiences include learning to scuba dive or snorkel the Belize Barrier Reef, hobie cat sailing and excursions into the history of Belize. This is a destination like no other. Just some of these details are why our team has won the Certificate of Excellence 8 years in a row! And, just this year, we were inducted into the “TripAdvisor Hall of Fame!”
“ The diving was good, the reef is very alive. My favorite non-dive experience was the hammock at the end of the pier. Oh what a comfortable hammock with an ocean view and a frequent pelican to hang out with.”
Luxuriously chill… June 14, 2018
“ We had an amazing honeymoon at St. George's Caye! The staff and atmosphere are amazing and provide a very intimate setting in an often over-touristed environment. The diving is amazing, as well as the dive staff. Very well done!”
Epic time... May 7, 2018
“ St. George's Caye is truly one-of-a-kind and absolutely serene! We loved that we could have gone a whole day on the island without seeing anyone if we didn't want to, but could be surrounded by new friends just as easily. Sitting on the front porch of our ocean front cabana drinking our delivered coffee and watching the sunrise was always a perfect start to the day!”
Secluded paradise... March 12, 2018
“We fell asleep to the sounds of the water below our cabin washing up on the beach beside us and the calm breeze blowing through the thatching on the roof of our hut, and every now and then a song of a local gull.”
This was OUR island… February 6, 2018